NYC Child Molestation Lawyers
It should not be surprising to hear that sex crimes perpetuated against children are among the most serious criminal offenses that one can be charged with. If you, or someone you know, has been charged with child molestation, it is time to seriously consider your legal options. You will want to take to a member of the firm at Criminal Lawyers NYC right away, as a conviction of this charge will change your life forever.
Child Molestation Explained
Keep in mind that the New York Penal Code does not actually list child molestation as a specific crime. Instead, it is a term that is taken to describe various kinds of sexually oriented crimes that have children as the primary victim. This can include, but is certainly not limited to, the following types of crimes:
The New York Penal Code allows you to be charged with this type of crime if you willingly commit a sexually related crime with another individual without his or her consent. Child molestation specifically refers to cases where the victim is younger than 17 at the time the act was committed. This is because New York does not permit individuals younger than 17 years of age to consent to sex. As a result, you could be be charged with child molestation even if the person you engage in the act with apparently gave their consent. If you are charged with this crime, be aware that the penalties for conviction are rather severe.
A conviction of child molestation will almost certainly land you in prison for a minimum of a few years. You will also have a criminal record for life, and New York law will mandate that you register yourself as a sex offender. This will compromise your ability to get certain types of jobs when you are released from prison, and you may find it difficult to secure housing as a result as well.
This is a type of child molestation that has the accused caught in the act of performing a sexual act that is considered to be lewd of licentious. An example of this would visible masturbation, where the sex organ is exposed when a child is present in the area.
If you are accused of this type of child molestation, it is believed that you have touched the private parts of a minor in a way that is meant to degrade or abuse him or her. You can also be charged with this crime if the forcible touching was done in order to bring about some type of sexual gratification to the accused.
Rape in the Third Degree
You can be charged with rape in the third degree if you are 21 years of age or older and have engaged in sexual intercourse with an individual who was under 17 years of age at the time of the act. The penally for this type of child molestation is as high as four years in prison.
Rape in the Second Degree
Rape in the second degree is charged if the accused in over 18 years of age and have sex with a child under the age of 15. Another stipulation for this charge is that accused needs to be at least four years older than the victim at the time of the crime. The penalty for a conviction of this crime is up to seven years in prison.
Rape in the Third Degree
This is the most serious charge, as it involves having sexual intercourse with an individual who is under the age of 11 at the time of the crime. The accused will need to be at least 18 years old at the time the sexual intercourse took place. A conviction here can result in as much as twenty-five years in prison.
If you have been accused of any type of child molestation in New York, it is very important that you contact our office for a consultation right away. There are a variety of defenses that can be mounted against such a charge, so it is important to get started on your case.
Mar 31, 2020
May 17, 2018
Spodek Law is a great firm. They are super pragmatic